Archive for March 29th, 2017

March 29, 2017

Working List of Online Resources

I am currently involved in a research project that will explore the intersection of faith and politics (and related issues) that has become so prominent in contemporary American politics, and which has echoes in other parts of the world. I will keep a record of the ongoing research on my blog as I go along.

This list of online resources will be updated as I go along. I won’t offer commentary on any of the resources on this post, though I might comment on some of them in subsequent posts. This post is simply meant as a place to compile resources I come across, and it will be updated regularly.

Unite for America: A new post-partisan platform for everyday conservatives and liberals going beyond party politics to tackle America’s biggest issues. https://www.uniteforamerica.org

Michael Hanegan http://www.michaelhanegan.com

Churches of Christ Aim to Mend Longstanding Racial Divides http://www.usatoday.com/news/religion/story/2012-06-16/churches-of-christ-racial-divide/55638722/1

Open Letters on Race Call for Meaningful Engagement http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/open-letters-on-race-call-for-meaningful-engagement?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=5023655&ObjectType=35

Alt-Right Gathering Exults in Trump Election With Nazi-Era Salute https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/21/us/alt-right-salutes-donald-trump.html

Race and Reconciliation http://etd.fcla.edu/UF/UFE0019542/key_b.pdf

Racism Has Its Privileges http://thenation.s3.amazonaws.com/pdf/racismhasprivileges.pdf

White Nationalism Explained https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/22/world/americas/white-nationalism-explained.html

The Most and Least Racially Diverse US Religious Groups http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/07/27/the-most-and-least-racially-diverse-u-s-religious-groups/

A Micro Political Theology for 2016 http://www.michaelhanegan.com/blog/a-micro-political-theology-for-2016

Review: Race and Churches of Christ: New book dispels myths (Shattering the Illusion, by Wes Crawford, reviewed by Tania Smith Brice) http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/race-and-churches-of-christ-new-book-dispels-myths?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4474330&ObjectType=35

Race and the Church (conversation with Tania Smith Brice) http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/race-and-the-church-a-conversation-with-tanya-smith-brice?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4368867&ObjectType=35

Churches of Christ National Lectureship http://www.cocnl.com

Christian Leaders Oppose Trump’s Muslim Ban http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2017/01/29/christian_leaders_oppose_trump_s_muslim_ban.html

White Privilege: Let’s Talk http://privilege.uccpages.org

Trump Turns Apolitical Mennonites into Protestors http://www.kansas.com/news/politics-government/article137032783.html

How Could So Many Evangelical Christians Support Donald Trump? http://www.denverpost.com/2016/11/19/how-could-so-many-evangelical-christians-support-donald-trump/

Churches should lead the way (and have not) (Fred Gray) http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/in-race-relations-churches-ought-to-be-the-ones-leading-the-way-and-we-have-not?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4831267&ObjectType=35

Evangelicals Protesting Trump’s Refugee Ban Talk about their Reasons http://www1.cbn.com/cbnnews/us/2017/february/evangelicals-protesting-trumps-temporary-refugee-ban-talk-about-their-reasons-why

The Civil Rights Movement Had One Powerful Tool That We Don’t Have https://www.thenation.com/article/the-civil-rights-movement-had-one-powerful-tool-that-we-dont-have/

How Democrats Can Stop Being Perceived as the Abortion Party https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/11/opinion/qa-how-democrats-can-stop-being-perceived-as-the-abortion-party.html

Trump Thinks This is Pro-Life? https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/22/opinion/sunday/trump-thinks-this-is-pro-life.html?_r=0

Christian Leaders Oppose Trump’s “America First” Budget Plan https://cruxnow.com/church-in-the-usa/2017/03/16/christian-leaders-protest-trumps-america-first-budget-plan/

10 Predictions for Post-Evangelical America http://www.michaelhanegan.com/blog/requiem-christian-nation

Losing My Religion for Equality (Jimmy Carter) http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/losing-my-religion-for-equality-20090714-dk0v.html

Religion: an important factor or not in the presidential race http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/religion-an-important-factor-or-not-in-presidential-race?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4368957&ObjectType=35

Christian groups oppose Trump’s preference for Christian refugees http://www.politico.com/story/2017/01/trump-immigration-christians-234341

The History of the West End Congregation http://www.thewestender.com/about_wend.htm

Consistent Life Network http://www.consistentlifenetwork.org

Churches of Christ and Racism: Time to Listen http://www.thewestender.com/about_wend.htm

Donald Trump’s Rise has Coincided with an Explosion of Hate Groups https://www.thenation.com/article/donald-trumps-rise-has-coincided-with-an-explosion-of-hate-groups/

Christians’ Support for Trump Undermines their Public Witness http://thefederalist.com/2016/10/12/christians-support-trump-undermines-public-witness/

On Russia, Ukraine, and Jeff Sessions http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/on-russia-ukraine-and-jeff-sessions

Evangelical Christians protest Trump Muslim ban outside prayer breakfast https://www.yahoo.com/news/evangelical-christians-protest-trump-refugee-ban-outside-prayer-breakfast-170516935.html

The Passion of Southern Christians https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/08/opinion/the-passion-of-southern-christians.html?smid=fb-nytimes&smtyp=cur&_r=0

What Jeff Sessions Doesn’t Understand About Racism http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/jurisprudence/2017/01/cory_booker_shattered_illusions_about_racism_at_the_sessions_hearing.html

(White) Reflections on Marching With Black Lives Matter http://www.michaelhanegan.com/blog/white-reflections-on-marching-with-blacklivesmatter

This is not a race issue, it’s a humanity issue http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/this-is-not-a-race-issue-it-is-a-humanity-issue?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457445&ObjectID=4711367&ObjectType=35

John McCain Takes on Donald Trump http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2017/02/john-mccain-takes-on-donald-trump.html

Donnie McClurkin Tells Christians to Stop Protesting Trump http://www.christianpost.com/news/donnie-mcclurkin-tells-christians-to-stop-protesting-donald-trump-174545/

Prophetic Moral Challenge After National Prayer Breakfast http://www.nbcnews.com/news/nbcblk/oped-moral-outrage-after-national-prayer-breakfast-n716261

The 2003 Documentary Born Rich has a Lot to tell us About Ivanka Trump http://www.slate.com/blogs/browbeat/2017/01/11/the_2003_documentary_born_rich_has_a_lot_to_tell_us_about_ivanka_trump.html

10 Reasons You Can’t be a Christian and Vote for Donald Trump http://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/commentary/2016/02/29/pieper-and-henderson-10-reasons-you-cant-be-a-christian-and-vote-for-donald-trump

Speaking up on the Race Issue in America http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/speaking-up-on-the-issue-of-race-in-america?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=5023651&ObjectType=35

Syrian Refugees find ‘second family’ in Canadian church http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/for-these-syrian-refugees-canadian-church-members-have-become-second-family

Franklin Graham Shows How Christians Protesting the Immigration Ban are Wrong http://www.faithfamilyamerica.com/franklin_graham_shows_how_christians_protesting_trump_s_immigration_ban_are_wrong

The Christian Community’s Support of Donald Trump Broke My Heart http://www.alternet.org/news-amp-politics/christian-communitys-support-donald-trump-broke-my-heart

Story on Race sparks bad and good memories http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/story-on-race-sparks-bad-good-memories?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4369358&ObjectType=35

No Room for Religious Extremism in Singapore http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/no-room-for-religious-extremism-in-singapore-say-muslim-leaders?xtor=EREC-16-1%5BST_Newsletter_AM%5D-20170305-%5BNo+room+for+religious+extremism+in+Singapore%2C+say+Muslim+leaders%5D&xts=538291

Why Do Christians Stand by Trump? http://theresurgent.com/why-do-christians-stand-by-trump/

Where Christian Leaders Stand on Trump’s Refugee Policy https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/01/christians-refugees-trump/514820/

The Christian Outrage Machine: A Counter-Proposal http://www.michaelhanegan.com/blog/the-christian-outrage-machine-a-counter-proposal

The Green Book https://www.nypl.org/blog/2015/03/24/schomburg-treasures-green-book

Why the Christian Right Still Supports Trump http://religionnews.com/2016/10/15/christian-right-still-trump/

Lutheran refugee agency ‘cautiously hopeful’ following blocked immigration order http://religionnews.com/2017/03/27/lutheran-refugee-agency-is-cautiously-hopeful-following-blocked-immigration-order/

On Christian Journalists and Black Lives Matter http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/on-christian-journalists-and-blacklivesmatter

9 Reasons My Faith Compels me to Say Black Lives Matter http://www.michaelhanegan.com/blog/9-reasons-why-my-faith-compels-me-to-say-blacklivesmatter

Race and the Church http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/race-and-the-church-getting-beyond-the-handshake?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4368869&ObjectType=35

Milwaukee Church Transcends Race http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/milwaukee-church-transcends-race?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4367878&ObjectType=35

Leaders Tackle Questions on Race and the Church http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/leaders-tackle-questions-on-race-and-the-church?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4367523&ObjectType=35

Race and the Church: how far have we come? http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/race-and-the-church-how-far-have-we-come?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4368870&ObjectType=35

Race Reconciliation, the Gospel, and the Church https://www.9marks.org/article/racial-reconciliation-the-gospel-and-the-church/

Conversation after Trayvon Martin Verdict http://www.christianchronicle.org/article/after-verdict-in-trayvon-martin-shooting-ministers-host-forum-on-youth-race-and-violence?A=SearchResult&SearchID=4457446&ObjectID=4370549&ObjectType=35

Gaps in the Christian Echo http://frankbellizzi.blogspot.com/2010/02/gaps-in-christian-echo.html

Trump’s Budget a Perfect Reflection of Republican Values https://www.thenation.com/article/trump-budget-gop-values/

Southwestern Christian College http://www.blackpast.org/aaw/southwestern-christian-college-1948

Advertisements